top of page
  • Jessica Barker

PERFECT PANCAKES (Recipe)


This post is a little different to usual, but I wanted to share with you a pancake recipe that Mum and I recently tried out, and to our surprise, it was a success! These American style pancakes are perfect for a weekend breakfast or brunch, and were equally as delicious as they were filling! Plus, if I can master them anybody can (and that's not exaggeration).

Ingredients (Serves 2)

100g self raising flour,

3/4 tsp of baking powder,

1/2 tbsp of caster sugar,

1 large egg,

12g of melted butter,

100ml milk,

Vegetable oil (for cooking)

Method

1. In a mixing bowl, stir the flour, baking powder and caster sugar together and create a well with the back of your spoon.

2. Add the egg, butter and milk into the well gradually and whisk to create a batter.

3. Heat oil in a frying pan and pour some of the mixture in, aiming to get it eight cm in width and around two cm in height.

4. Heat on each side for 1-2 minutes, until golden brown, then stack and top.

As you can see above, my mum went for golden syrup, bananas and a sprinkle of icing sugar, and she said this combination was a winner. I opted for golden syrup and strawberries, as seen below, and this tasted great as well! (It also looks like a sun which is super cute).

I hope you'll give this recipe a go and make your own homemade, American style pancakes this weekend. I've already decided that this is what I want for breakfast on my Birthday (despite the fact that it's not until September...) - it's just something a little different that I normally wouldn't have!

Stay tuned for Friday's post, where I'll be reviewing my recent stint at the Couch to 5K challenge - be aware that I am EXTREMELY unfit, so this is going to be a good laugh for you if nothing else!

As always, thanks for giving it a read - JB


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page