top of page
  • Jessica Barker

TOP TIPS FOR COMMUTERS


After a long year of hopping on and off trains to get to and from university in Lincoln, I feel like a bit of an expert when it comes to commuting. I'm currently having driving lessons but definitely won't be test ready anytime soon - which means I am going to have to rely on trains once again to get me from A to B. For anybody else finding themselves in this situation, I want to offer some advice to make your journeys run a little more smoothly!

1. Download the Trainline app.

The Trainline app allows you to purchase tickets on your phone, track your trains' journey, check for cancellations and helps you to handle refunds should you need to. It's free to download and is super reliable, in fact I've often found it to have up-to-date information sooner than some of the conductors! It saves you a lot of time fumbling around for change at the ticket machine, and provides all the informaiton you could ever possibly need about your journey - so you don't have to stand around waiting at boards or information desks. Nowadays, all of the barriers letting you in and out of each station provide a little screen for you to scan your barcode, so paper tickets really aren't needed.

2. Work out a routine.

If you're going to be doing the same journey, day in and day out, it's important that you establish a routine. When I was travelling to Lincoln I had to get on three different trains, so organised my time on-board and off-board. I'd do my make-up on the first train, completing it with my staple winged liner when I got off that train and was waiting for the next, then on my second journey (a much shorter one) I would would charge my phone because there was always an available socket, when arriving into Retford I would get a coffee and some breakfast and enjoy that before jumping on my third train, upon which I used my laptop to plan lessons, create powerpoints and check work Emails. This all ran like clockwork, provided the trains weren't running too late, and even if they did, I could change my routine slightly to suit this inconvenience.

3. Get ready the evening before your journey.

This will save you so much time in the morning and you'll be glad of that when you're waking up early. So pack a bag and leave it by the front door, buy your ticket, make sure you've got your railcard, hang your outfit up on the wardrobe door and then try to get some sleep. You don't want to be rushing about the next day and as long as you prepare the night before, you won't need to. I know that sometimes you just want to collapse in bed, but you'll get more time there in the morning if everything is prepared and ready.

4. Buy a railcard.

This really is the best thing I ever did when it comes to travelling by rail, a 16-25 railcard costs £30 and is valid for a year, taking 1/3 off your rail fares. This means that a journey that would ordinarily cost £6.80 comes to just £4,50, that's a saving of £2.30 - enough for a coffee at the station! More impressively, if you travelled five days a week, you'd be saving over £10. Make the investment, you won't regret it. There are some terms and conditions, for example you're not allowed to use it before a certain time - though, that doesn't apply when you use the app, another reason to use it! You can find more details online through the website, where you can also apply for one to be sent in the post, so follow the link and have a look for yourself. (https://www.16-25railcard.co.uk)

What to take:

A laptop - That way, you can get on with work, stream a film to watch, or even browse the internet (if you're lucky enough to have a train with on-board wifi, though don't forget you can use some of the data from your phone if need be).

A phone charger - This is essential. If you are going to use the Trainline app, you'll need to make sure your phone is charged so you can access your ticket. Even if you won't take my advice about the app, you'll want to be able to use your phone in case of an emergency. Most trains nowadays, even the new Northern trains, have plug sockets and usb sockets, so you should be able to charge your phone on-board. If not, make sure you charge it at work. school, college or university (wherever you're travelling to) so that you don't run into any trouble on your journey.

An umbrella - The weather can be very unpredictable and it's quite likely that you'll have a bit of a walk from the station to wherever you're going. Hopefully you won't have quite the trek I used to face (a twenty-five minute walk up Steep Hill) but an umbrella would still be handy, as would a spare pair of socks!

Hand Sanitizer - Public transport can be pretty disgusting... trains, tubes and buses are breeding grounds from germs and bacteria, so you need to make sure you're keeping yourself as sanitised as possible!

A Kindle/Book - I often find it difficult to read for pleasure, I can never focus long enough to properly commit to the novel, but when I'm on a train, I absolutely love to read. It passes the time, it keeps you immersed and provides a little bit of a escapism from the sound of the engine or the busy carriage.

Headphones - Music is another way to disconnect and relax, some days you just won't be up to working your brain - especially on your return journeys - and instead you'll just want to sit back and listen to music while you travel back home.

I could've gone on forever with this post, but I've tried to stick to essentials and highly recommended items as not to bore you all. If you are looking at a year of commuting, be assured that it is a nice way to travel. As quick and convenient as it is to have a car and be able to drive, train journeys let you prepare yourself for the busy day ahead in a number of ways.

I hope you have found this post helpful, as always, until next time.

Jess x


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page